Galore Creek signed a Participation Agreement with Tahltan in 2006 which we continue to implement today. Our joint Environmental Performance Committee and monthly technical working sessions ensure alignment, and that Tahltan is heard, informed, and involved through all phases of Project development.

Galore Creek is committed to providing lasting benefits to communities. We actively invest in education and training for Tahltan students, and cultural and language programs for youth.

Community Engagement

We strive to develop and maintain open, honest and respectful relationships with the communities in which we operate.

As Galore Creek completes our Prefeasibility Study, we are working to expand our engagement with a broader range of communities. We want to hear from you

Supporting Communities By Supporting Local Businesses

Local and northern businesses have a long history of supporting the development of the Galore Creek Project, including Tahltan businesses. Supporting local businesses aligns us with our objectives of supporting the communities in the vicinity of the Project and its larger operational area. Some of our partners and suppliers include:

We Want To Hear From You

Galore Creek is committed to ongoing engagement with all interested and affected parties. We want to hear from you.
Contact Us

Tahltan Education Bursaries

Galore Creek is proud to support Tahltan students of all ages in their career training and educational goals. The Galore Creek – Tahltan Bursary Program was established in 2006 by the signing of the Participation Agreement and has awarded a total of $260,000 to Tahltan members through 163 individual awards. In addition to the Galore Creek – Tahltan Bursary Program, in 2021 Galore Creek established the Ann M. Ball Bursary in honour of Ann’s long-standing commitment to the Project, the mining industry and the Tahltan Nation. The program opens for applications August through September, and successful bursary recipients are announced October 18th, Tahltan Day.

Who is Eligible?

Bursary Application

The Galore Creek Mining Corporation offers a number of bursaries to support Tahltan members who wish to pursue post-secondary education. Bursaries are available for university and college programs, and trades at accredited institutions.


Academic bursaries are granted to students enrolled in a university degree program or university transfer courses (towards a degree program) or a two-year diploma program at a community college.

Non-Academic & trades bursaries are granted to students 18 years and older, enrolled in any accredited post-secondary course or programs (that are not associated with a university degree program). Students younger than 18 may be considered if they are accepted into an accredited trades program. Eligible programs also include BC Adult Graduation Diplomas and General Education Development Certificates.

Bursaries are awarded based on academic achievement, community involvement, as well as educational and career goals. Bursaries are not restricted to educational programs directly related to mining, but special consideration is given to applicants whose career goals relate to the mining industry.

The Ann M Ball Bursary was established in honour of Ann’s contribution to the Galore Creek Project, the mining industry and the Tahltan nation. This Bursary is intended to support Tahltan who are emerging or active leaders within their community, who are pursuing a post-secondary education and endeavor to give back to their community and Nation.

Bursary Eligibility
· Tahltan heritage
· Enrolled in post-secondary (includes trades, community colleges etc.)

See Bursary Recipients

Galore Creek is proud to support Tahltan students of all ages in their career training and educational goals. We offer two types of annual bursary awards to Tahltans as a core part of our agreement with Tahltan Nation.

Congratulations to all the 2022 Galore Creek Bursary Recipients

Recipient Educational Program Organization
Ann M Ball Bursary:
Westin Creyke MSc – Biology, Wildlife  University of Northern BC
Academic Bursary:
Nikita Weiss Day  Bachelor of Education  University of British Columbia
Shesley Callison-Hanna  M.Sc – Environmental Science  Thompson River University
Kody Penner  Bachelor of Commerce – Finance  University of British Columbia
Taylor Peterson  Bachelor of Science – Nursing  University of British Columbia
Kyle Risby  Law Degree  University of Victoria
Ocean Van Mierlo  Bachelor of Science – Environment  University of Victoria
Teneal Nole  MBA – Business Leadership  Simon Fraser University
Haley Mclean  Bachelor of Arts – Psychology  Simon Fraser University
Merissa Gallup  Early Childhood Education  Vancouver Island University
Amber-Lyn May  Bachelor of Science – Forensic Science  Laurentian University
Andrew Reimert  Software Development Diploma  Southern Alberta Institute of Technology
Romeo Nash  Bachelor of Arts – Native Studies  University of Alberta
Janessa Garcia  Bachelor of Science – Biochemistry  University of Northern BC
Non-Academic Bursary:
Leigh Lindstrom  Equipment Operator  Obrien Training
Erich Mostad  Welder Apprenticeship  North Island College